Friday, April 12, 2024

Origin of Four Yugas in Hinduism

Must Read

Santana dharma holds that God (Isvara) appears as Time (Kala). God is timeless, everlasting, constant, unchanging, unbreakable, and devoid of activity and dualism in his absolute condition. Because he is inseparable, time is not subdivided for Him. It does, however, appear to Him as an integrated and distinct component. It divides and appears as a cyclical and repeated event in the imagined world. Eternity is the basis for life, order, and consistency in life. It has a variety of uses. In the mortal realms, change, ageing, death, and rebirth are all effects of Time. It is furthermore seen as a natural force that creates shift, movement, unsteadiness, and extinction. It is considered one of the finities (tattvas) of Creation in Saivism. Nature (Prakriti) and the Self (Purusha) are both everlasting.  

Time is periodic in Hinduism, much as the days and nights, seasons, months, and years. Time causes creation to become repeated and cyclical, with each cycle having a start and an end as well as increasing stages of growth and involution. The repeating occurrences of Time, like days and nights, months, years, seasons, the motions of the sun, moon, and stars, etc., may be predicted, even though we are unable to foretell the events that occur on the earth’s or the universe’s timelines.

The four epochs of time

Four divisions, or epochs, are used by the Puranas to divide each cycle of creation. They combine to form a single Mahayuga (great period). Each Yuga has a certain historical period, a clear purpose, and unique characteristics that set it apart from the others. Their order is predetermined. Each Yuga has a different time period. Here are the descriptions of them:

Satya Yuga

The “Yuga of Satya” of Truth is known as the Satya Yuga, also known as Sat Yuga and Krita Yuga. The most kindhearted Gods govern over all of humanity at this time, and everyone exhibits the purest and most perfect behaviors. In this Yuga, humanity permits inherent kindness to predominate. It is also known as the “Golden Age,” as it is the most idealistic and harmonious existence a person may possibly have.

Treta Yuga

Humans in the Treta Yuga, also known as the Silver Age, offer peaceful religious sacrifices to the gods in order to appease them and, eventually, to please the Supreme Being, Vishnu. In Bhagwat Gita is described by Lord Krishna that

“Be pleased by performing this yajna [sacrifice], for it will bestow upon you everything desirable for living happily and achieving liberation, said the Lord of all creatures at the beginning of creation as He sent forth generations of men and demigods and sacrifices for Viu.”

Humans in the Treta yuga were extraordinarily virtuous, devout, and considerate of other living things. They had lifespans that might reach 10,000 years. It was a period of general peace and prosperity even if there was some social divide.

What are the four yugas? - Quora
Source of Image: What are the Four Yugas-Quora

Dwapara Yuga

Humans started departing from the path of dharma, or the religious way of life, even before the start of the Dvapara Yuga by the end of the Treta Yug. Society’s members took use of their status to elevate their own status and way of living at the expense of others around them. Every stratum of society—from Brahmanas to Sudras—was experiencing this. Wars started to erupt as governing rulers fought for control over territory, riches, and influence.

Mother Earth became overloaded by corrupt leaders at the conclusion of the most recent Dvapara Yuga, who had all but entirely abandoned the path of religion in favor of wanton greed and senseless aggression. In the appearance of a defenseless cow, Mother Earth approached Brahma, the supreme creator, and begged Him to act on her behalf and to protect the welfare of the human race.

Then Brahma appealed to Vishnu, who told Him that Krishna, the Supreme Personality of Godhead, would manifest on Earth to vanquish the wicked monarchs and save the earth. At this time, Krishna descended and delivered the renowned Bhagavad-Gita to Arjuna.


Sri Krishna’s continued presence on Earth prevented the onset of the Kali Yuga. The explanation is that ignorance and secularism are kept at bay by the Supreme Person. Morality and spirituality are only faint echoes of what they once were during the Kali Yuga or Iron Age. The status quo is deceit and deception in the guise of religion. The earth is essentially devoid of calm during the Kali Yuga, which is the complete opposite of Satya Yuga. Every living thing has tangible challenges as they fight only to exist while being severely plagued by terror.

A fresh explanation for the origins and development of life on earth

We think that although human spirits were present on Earth for a very long time, it was only lately that they took on bodily form. Humans only developed physical bodies at the start of the Kali Yuga, whereas lesser living forms did so millions of years before. They possessed astral bodies or had stayed in subtle forms up to that point. This idea holds that during the Satyuga, people were divine and pure. The souls gradually became more impure as a result of being influenced by Rajas and Tamas throughout time. They first acquired delicate bodies and exhibited celestial traits. After a few million years, they eventually evolved gross bodies and became more materialistic, losing their purity and understanding of their spiritual essence in the process.

Source of Image: Popular Vedic Science

We, humans, are the results of a protracted process of both physical and spiritual growth. We developed into human beings from heavenly beings after losing contact with our souls as we gained bodies. If our forecast is accurate, the planet will experience more darkness before it ends.

Kali as the embodiment

Lord Vishnu was rumored to appear on Earth at the very end of the Kali Yuga. He would assume the shape of Kalki, the Divine Warrior, in his last appearance. A beautiful blade that was “blazing like a comet” would be flashed by Kalki as she rode up on a white horse while sitting. This last manifestation of Vishnu would bring about the apocalyptic end of the world, but it would also bring back dharma and spirituality to the planet.




  • Four Yugas: Satya Yuga, Treta Yuga, Dwapara Yuga and Kali Yuga

  • What are Four Yugas

  • Four Yugas in Hinduism


- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Article